Diana Vreeland Doc Takes Top Prize
Designs of the Year award winners announced

Pin It Tumblr It +1 It

London’s Design Museum has announced the winners of its annual Designs of the Year awards, honoring “the most innovative and imaginative designs from around the world” in seven categories. In the fashion category, it was Lisa Immordino Vreeland’s 2011 biopic of her grandmother-in-law, the fashion legend Diana Vreeland, that took top spot. Immordino Vreeland never actually met the iconic editor, but she had long been in awe of Vreeland’s tenacity and passion, qualities that inspired her to create Diana Vreeland: The Eye Has To Travel. What started as a large-format biography published in 2011 quickly turned into a documentary of the same name, revealing Vreeland’s extraordinary influence on the industry. If you haven’t seen the documentary, you must, if only to hear the way Vreeland drawls the word “chaaahming,” and declares,  “I wasn’t a fashion editor, I was the one and only fashion editor.”